spacer
Dalhousie University Dalhousie University Faculty of Medicine Department of Ophthalmology
spacer
spacer
   
 
spacer



RESEARCH TEAM

The research team of the Department of Ophthalmology & Visual Sciences, sorted alphabetically.


Dr. Marcelo Nicolela (Department Head)

Department Head and District Chief, Fellowship Director

Department of Ophthalmology & Visual Sciences Rm. 2035, 2 W Victoria 1276 South Park Street Halifax NS B3H 2Y9

Tel: (902) 473-3622

Fax: (902) 473-2839

Email: nicolela@dal.ca

Specialty: Glaucoma


Dr. William Baldridge

Joint appointment with Anatomy

Retina & Optic Nerve Research Laboratory Dept. Anatomy & Neurobiology Sir Charles Tupper Building Dalhousie University Halifax NS B3H 4H7

Tel: (902) 494-6305

Fax: (902) 494-6309

Email: william.baldridge@dal.ca

Specialty: Basic Scientist


Dr. Steven Barnes

Joint appointment with Physiology & Biophysics Dept.

Retina & Optic Nerve Research Laboratory Dept. Physiology & Biophysics Sir Charles Tupper Building Dalhousie University Halifax NS B3H 4H7

Tel: (902) 494-6345

Fax: (902) 494-6309

Email: steven.barnes@dal.ca

Specialty: Basic Scientist


Dr. Balwantray Chauhan

Research Director & Chair in Vision Research

Department of Ophthalmology & Visual Sciences Rm. 2035, 2W Victoria Bldg. 1278 Tower Road Halifax NS B3H 2Y9

Tel: (902) 473-3202

Fax: (902) 473-2839

Email: Bal@dal.ca

Specialty: Basic Scientist,Clinical Scientist,Glaucoma


Dr. Patrice Côté

Retina Research (http://biology.dal.ca/People/faculty/cote/cote.htm)

Life Sciences Center 1355 Oxford Street, room 7124A Halifax, NS B3H 4J1

Tel: (902) 494-1318

Fax: (902) 494-3736

Email: patrice@dal.ca

Specialty: Basic Scientist


Dr. Alan F. Cruess

Department of Ophthalmology & Visual Sciences Room 2035, 2W Victoria Bldg. 1276 South Park St. Halifax NS B3H 2Y9

Tel: (902) 473-7215

Fax: (902) 473-2839

Email: alan.cruess@dal.ca

Specialty: Clinical Scientist,Comprehensive Ophthalmology,Cornea,Electrophysiology,External Diseases,General Ophthalmology,Glaucoma,Medical & Surgical Retina,Medical Retina


Dr. John Dickinson

Department of Ophthalmology & Visual Sciences 1278 Tower Rd. 2W Victoria, Room 2035 Halifax NS B3H 2Y9

Tel: (902) 473-3947

Fax: (902) 473-2839

Specialty: Medical & Surgical Retina


Doreen Hutchings

Administrative Assistant to Research Director & Chair in Vision Research

Dept. of Ophthalmology& Visual Sciences Room 2035, 2 W Victoria Bldg. 1278 Tower Rd. Halifax NS B3H 2Y9

Tel: (902) 473-3202

Fax: (902) 473-2839

Email: Doreen.Hutchings@dal.ca




Dr. Melanie Kelly

Retina & Optic Nerve Research Laboratory Dept. of Pharmacology Sir Charles Tupper Building Dalhousie University Halifax NS B3H 4H7

Tel: (902) 494-3613

Fax: (902) 494-6309

Email: melanie.kelly@dal.ca

Specialty: Basic Scientist


Dr. Vladimir Kozousek

Residency Training Program Director

Department of Ophthalmology & Visual Sciences Rm. 2035 2 W Victoria Building 1278 Tower Rd. Halifax NS B3H 2Y9

Tel: (902) 473-3473

Fax: (902) 473-2839

Email: vladimir@dal.ca

Specialty: Medical Retina


Dr. G. Robert LaRoche MD, FRCSC


Chief of Ophthalmology, IWK Health Centre
Fellowship Program Director, Pediatric Ophthalmology and Adult Strabismus

Department of Ophthalmology IWK Health Centre 6 South 5850/5980 University Ave. PO Box 9700 Halifax NS B3K 6R8

Tel: (902) 470-8731

Fax: (902) 470-7748

Email: robert.laroche@dal.ca

Specialty: Adult Strabismus,Paediatric Ophthalmology


Dr. Charles Maxner

Cross appointed with Neurology

Room 3819, 1796 Summer Street Halifax Infirmary Site Halifax NS B3H 3A7

Tel: (902) 473-3731

Fax: (902) 473-4438

Email: c.maxner@dal.ca

Specialty: Neuro-Ophthalmology


Dr. Andrew Orr

Department of Ophthalmology & Visual Sciences Room 2035, 2W Victoria 1278 Tower Rd. Halifax NS B3H 2Y9

Tel: (902) 473-3410

Fax: (902) 473-2839

Email: aorr@dal.ca

Specialty: Glaucoma


Dr. David Persaud

Cross appointment School of Health Services Administration

School of Health Services Administration Faculty of Health Professions Dalhousie University 5599 Fenwick Street Halifax NS B3H 1R2

Tel: (902) 494-1308

Fax: (902) 494-6849

Email: d.persaud@dal.ca




Chris Phillips

Technical Coordinator

Department of Ophthalmology & Visual Sciences QE II Health Sciences Centre 2035-2 West Victoria Building 1276 South Park St Halifax, NS B3H 2Y9

Tel: (902) 473-3465

Fax: (902) 473-2839

Email: Chris.Phillips@Dal.Ca




Dr. Johane Robitaille

Cross appointment Pathology

IWK Health Centre 6 S, Department of Ophthalmology P.O. Box 9700 Halifax NS B3K 6R8

Tel: (902) 470-8008

Fax: (902) 470-7748

Email: jrobitai@dal.ca

Specialty: Oculogenetics


Dr. Lesya Shuba

Residency Program Research Director

Dept. of Ophthalmology & Visual Sciencs Room 2035, 2 W Victoria 1278 Tower Rd. Halifax NS B3H 2Y9

Tel: (902) 473-3410

Fax: (902) 473-2839

Specialty: Glaucoma


Dr. Francois Tremblay

Cross Appointment Physiology & Biophysics

Dept. of Ophthalmology and Visual Sciences IWK Health Centre P.O. Box 3070 Halifax NS B3J 3G9

Tel: (902) 470-8326

Fax: (902) 470-3207

Email: f.tremblay@dal.ca

Specialty: Clinical Scientist


 

 

 
   
  spacer